MIAC round-up

Transition periods between seasons, spring break trips and a three-week long hiatus from paper publishing has left a lot to be recapped in the sports section.

Cathryn Salis, Sports Reporter

Distance makes the heart grow fonder, and the Oracle has been away for many a month. Winter seasons came to a close and many end-of-season awards and events were distributed, decorating the Pipers to the nines. 

In this leave of absence, sports reporter and photographer for the Oracle Rachel Peterson sat down with junior diver Courtney Broyles after her performance at Zones for a Q and A interview. The interview was published on the Oracle’s website, hamlineoracle.com. 

The track and field team finished up their indoor season and three Piper athletes were honored the US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Regional Distinction for 2022. Seniors Jenneel Rodney and Alexandra Maddux as well as first-year Joshua Thomsen were named, indicating they were each among the top five competitors in their event in the region. This is Maddux’s third indoor all-region award and the first for Rodney and Thomsen. 

Hamline softball took home two for two wins from their spring break trip to Florida, starting their season on a positive note. The Rubbelke sisters, one a senior on her last year of eligibility and one a first-year already making waves, were game leaders in both matches. Senior Megan Rubbelke was named MIAC Athlete of the Week that same week. Softball stands as of 3/27 at 9–4. 

Women’s basketball ended their historic season with a three-point loss to Augsburg in the semifinals for the MIAC playoff tournament on 2/25. The last 45 seconds of this match was filled with electricity and tension and within the last seven seconds, the Auggies snuck in their winning lead. Two players, Lydia Lecher and Sophie Findell, were named to the 2021-22 MIAC All-Conference team.

Six women’s hockey players were named to the 2021-22 MIAC Women’s Hockey Awards and junior Sophie Rausch was named the MIAC Women’s Hockey Co-Player of the Year. Rausch is the second Piper to ever be awarded this honor in program history. Her predecessor was Jordan Hansen from the 2019-20 season. 

For the most updated stats and game coverage, visit hamlineathletics.com.